Skip to content

Catwoman Merch for “The Dark Knight Rises”

January 26, 2012

We knew this day was coming: the day DC Direct finally started releasing merchandise for the movie I’m looking forward to the most this year!  We finally get a better view of Catwoman’s costume from The Dark Knight Rises to boot, no pun intended. I know patience is a virtue I don’t do well with, and some of us Catty fans have really been wondering what she will be wearing in the film.  Granted, I’m not the world’s greatest fashionista, but I must say, I really like the costume.

First, lets talk about the 12″ Catwoman statue, which comes out in July! It’s a full figure design of Catwoman, with cat burglar head piece pulled down over her goggles like we’ve seen in previous promotional photos.  You can see a texture to the body suit that may hint at protective armor, which I like. Girls, if you’re going out robbing rich Gothamites, you’re going to need some protection. The elbow length gloves and thigh-high boots with a silver spiked heel gives the costume a nice Balent-era nod. I’m guessing the spikes are there to add more power to her kicks, and you can see that in this statue. Finally, a well-added addition of a utility belt.  The statue bears an uncanny likeness to Hathaway and it’s just well done overall.

Next, we can discuss that Catwoman bust being released in June. The design has her goggles flipped up, representing her cat ears and we can view her eyes through the mask.  The suit is still textured to give the feeling of body armor and the belt sits balanced on her hips. Love it! If you look hard enough, you can even see a little grin that is just the purr-fect Catwoman look. I wish there was a better picture of how her arms are positioned though. From what I can tell, they seem to be in the same stance as Batman.

Lastly, we have the sculpt of the Catwoman 6” figure on sale in June.  It’s not painted, and everything is in grey scale, but the detail is amazing.  It looks pretty close to the statue, but her ears are up and she has that lovely grin again. This view shows us the side zipper to one of her boots and gives us an idea of her those heels she’s sporting.

I am pretty sure that 2012 should have been the Year of the Cat. Without a doubt, I’ll be purchasing most of the Catwoman items after I see the movie. However if it’s anything like another that will remain nameless, I wont purchase anything, because I just can’t support a bad Catwoman portrayal. Who am I kidding? I may still get them because they look so awesome and one can never have too much Selina Kyle in their life.

(pics from Idle Hands)
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Gary permalink
    January 26, 2012 12:27 am

    Nice review

  2. Jacely Beans permalink
    January 26, 2012 4:21 am

    I wanna have one.

  3. March 2, 2012 4:48 am

    I admit that I like the Catwoman look for the new movie, but Bane seems a horror show. They should have just left him alone and gave him the classic look.

  4. Japeth permalink
    August 19, 2012 10:53 am

    The Dark Knight costumes is definitely for me and my son. I’m sure that he’ll want to wear that.

Leave a Reply

