Skip to content

Anne Hathaway to play Selina Kyle/Catwoman (Maybe?)

January 19, 2011

What better news to start off my Catwoman blog!!! Today the news spread like wildfire that Anne Hathaway will be playing Selina Kyle/Catwoman and Tom Hardy will be Bane in “The Dark Knight Rises”.

BURBANK, CA, January 19, 2011 – Warner Bros. Pictures announced today that Anne Hathaway has been cast as Selina Kyle in Christopher Nolan’s “The Dark Knight Rises.” She will be starring alongside Christian Bale, who returns in the title role of Bruce Wayne/Batman.
Christopher Nolan stated, “I am thrilled to have the opportunity to work with Anne Hathaway, who will be a fantastic addition to our ensemble as we complete our story.”
In addition, Tom Hardy has been set to play Bane. Nolan said, “I am delighted to be working with Tom again and excited to watch him bring to life our new interpretation of one of Batman’s most formidable enemies.”
Nolan will direct the film from a screenplay he wrote with Jonathan Nolan, from a story by Christopher Nolan and David S. Goyer. Nolan will also produce the film with his longtime producing partner, Emma Thomas, and Charles Roven.
“The Dark Knight Rises” is slated for release on July 20, 2012. The film will be distributed worldwide by Warner Bros. Pictures, a Warner Bros. Entertainment Company.

Outrage, cheers and crazy debates have been circulating all over the internet since the news broke around lunch time today.  Where does this Catwoman obsessed fangirl stand?  I am all for it. Here are my reasons why.  The main argument I keep returning to is that when Ledger was first announced to play the Joker, people had horrible fits.  What happened with that?  Ledger blew us away with a performance that we will never forget.  What about the argument that she isn’t “sexy” enough to play Catwoman?  Uhh.. Hello?

To  me, that is pretty damn sexy. Yes Catwoman is sexy, but she is also a very confident character, and that picture alone shows me that Anne can portray the kind of  “catty” attitude  that I love from Selina.  I have faith in Nolan’s ideas, and if he thinks that Anne will do a great job, by all means I am for it. Anne has showed us that she is an actresses that has levels, and with the right direction, make up, costume and script, she can do amazing things.  I am tired of people getting mad at me for liking this idea.

What about the rumors starting that she will only play Selina since Catwoman isn’t mentioned in the press release.  Nolan has always been tricky with his information.   Someone stated earlier that  “Batman Begins” announced Liam Neesen as Ducard, but not Ra’s… Tricky Tricky!!!!  Personally I dont remember that.  What I do remember is all the speculation that Two Face would or would not appear in “The Dark Knight”, and look what happened.  It could be true that she only plays Selina…  If that is the case, I will be sorely disappointed.

More questions keep popping up, like what will her origin story be? Selina Kyle/Catwoman has one of the most complicated backgrounds of any character.  She has been a prostitute, orphan, received amnesia from a plane crash, abusive husband and she just wanted to get away, pushed out of a building and gnawed on by cats (Batman Returns)  and so on and so forth.  Maybe they will give her a new origin story. Who knows?

I am more concerned about what her costume will look like. If we have another Halley Berry fiasco I will stab someone.  I am hoping for her more modern costume with a little twist.  What do y’all think? Below are some of her past costumes. Gah! Look at that green abomination. *sigh*

I would love to hear everyone’s thoughts about this casting call.  I know several of my friends are not happy about it and then they got a little nasty with me because I feel like everything will work out.  I am also excited about all the new Catwoman merchandise that may arrive.  I would also like to hear feedback about my first article or if I should just quit now and kill the blog. 😉

7 Comments leave one →
  1. Ashley permalink
    January 20, 2011 12:35 am

    I was one of the enraged folks *spew blood vomit* but that subsided after a while. I am still iffy on the casting decision, but who knows…she may shock the hell out of me. And sweet baby jesus, I hope she does.

    If there’s another Halle Berry costume fiasco, I will be right beside you and getting all smashy on people. Personally, I’m a fan of the Jim Balent costume.

    And as for the blogging, please continue. I love the idea for your blog. ❤

  2. ajsinnz permalink
    January 20, 2011 1:42 am

    You make excellent points. I’ve been kind of complaining about this all day, but yeah, you make good points. I still would have preferred somebody else (not sure who) but in Nolan I trust. 🙂

  3. January 21, 2011 12:37 pm

    I agree 100% with you COMIXBOOKGURL!
    Hathaway is going to knock it out the ballpark and I too hope Nolan goes with the Jim Balent-style costume 🙂

  4. January 22, 2011 5:18 am

    She’s going to rock the role (assuming the script is decent). I hope they do something akin to the Balent purple catsuit, and really play on her versatility. 🙂

  5. Chipsnopotatoes permalink
    February 6, 2011 2:58 pm

    I was surprised by the choice but the more I see of her, the more I think she can pull it off.

    And you definitely should keep this blog going.

  6. HarryCanyon permalink
    February 22, 2012 5:45 am

    Ann Hathaway is a total cutie all the way and i really like her, nice choice despite i wanted Natalie Portman or Charlize Theron or Angelina Jolie as Catwoman/Selina Kyle but oh well.

    Catwoman has always been one of my biggest comic book crushes for 23 years since i was 8 when i read the comics of Batman and Catwoman besides Wonder-Woman, Black-Cat, Jean Grey and Tigra. I even had a crush on Julie Newmar and Lee Meriwether’s version around the same time when i watched reruns of the 60’s show on TV. But the one version of Selina i don’t like was the bald hooker version from Year One who looks too much like Sinead O’Conner and is probably swimming in diseases for i like my ladies clean and disease free.

    Anne Hathaway’s version should be nice but i think she’s more suited to Lois Lane.

  7. July 18, 2013 2:18 pm

    Hi to all, how is the whole thing, I think every one is getting more from this web page,
    and your views are nice in support of new people.

Leave a Reply

